Riverhawk Cross Country Season Concludes with National Championship Meet

Riverhawk Cross Country Season Concludes with National Championship Meet

The Details

              Attending Teams:

                        Anne Arundel Community College Riverhawks (NJCAA DIII Region XX)

                        Harper College Hawks (NJCAA DIII Region IV)

                        Oxford College of Emory University Eagles (NJCAA DIII Region XVII)

                        Kingsborough Community College The Wave (NJCAA DIII Region XV)

                        Fashion Institute of Technology Tigers (NJCAA DIII Region XV)

                        Lorrain County Community College Commodores (NJCAA DIII Region XII)

Herkimer County Community College Generals (NJCAA DIII Region III)

                        Mohawk Valley Community College Hawks (NJCAA DIII Region III)

                        Sandhills Community College Flyers (NJCAA DIII Region X)

                        Georgia Military College Bulldogs (NJCAA DIII Region XVII)

                        Westmoreland County Community College Wolfpack (NJCAA DIII Region XX)

Rowan College at Gloucester County Roadrunners (NJCAA DIII Region XIX)

                        Suffolk County Community College Sharks (NJCAA DIII Region XV)

                        Springfield Technical Community College (NJCAA DIII Region XXI)

              Location: Holyoke Community College, Stanley Park – Westfield, Massachusetts

              Box Score: Full results found here

              Media Gallery:  Banquet photos here  |  Race photos here & here

Race Notes

              The Riverhawk women's cross country team have concluded their 2017 season with their latest (11/4) trip to Westfield, Massachusetts for the 2017 NJCAA DIII Women's Cross Country National Championship hosted by Holyoke Community College at Stanley Park.

              Fourteen complete teams competed at the Championship with the Hawks of Harper College (Region IV – Illinois) capturing the title for the second straight time.

              Despite finishing further from the top than hoped for, thirteenth overall, the Riverhawks posted some great PR times at the National Championship. Caitlyn Shriver (Pasadena, MD/Northeast) finished first for AACC with a 5k time of 23:32, followed by Madeline Fitzgerald (Shady Side, MD/Southern) at 23:59, MacKenzie Schwartz (Pasadena, MD/Northeast) at 24:13, Alyssa Baronella-O'Toole (Severn, MD/Old Mill) at 25:31, Madeline Szanyi (Mayo, MD/South River) at 25:42, Heather Verdin (Severn, MD/Old Mill) at 26:32, and Amaya Odgers (Chesapeake, VA/Annapolis) at 27:37.

Up Next

              The 2017 NJCAA DIII Women's Cross Country National Championship meet will mark the end of the 2017 Anne Arundel Community College Riverhawk Women's Cross Country Season.

Remember to get the latest updates and announcements, as well as receiving all access to live stats and live videos by following AACC Athletics (@aaccathletics) on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube!